Welcome to Sheenam's Wish Please read ahead on Sheenam's Story so far...


When I first discovered that I had JHD I don’t think it really hit me straight away and I tried to convince myself that I was going to be OK!
I was actually undergoing psychological counselling, when my Dr. Suggested I tested for the condition.
I underwent the tests and received the devastating news, when I was with my best friend Serina.
All of this seemed to be made even more unfair, as my father had been suffering from the disease and my results came the day after his funeral!
For a while after diagnosis, I found it very difficult to motivate myself and simply lay on the sofa for days at the time, not being able to be bothered to even get dressed or wash myself! After speaking to professional team in charge of my personal wellbeing, we decided after much thought, that it would be possible for me to become more independent. The first few weeks in the flat was quite difficult, struggling to come to terms with everything.  However, due to the fact I had my carers having to dress,  feed, wash me and help with everyday tasks, I soon grew used to being independent and now enjoy having my own space.


I try and stay positive and never give into my condition. I have a very strong faith in God and knowing that God is by my side at all times gives me the strength and courage to continue to live a full life.  I go out almost every day and make sure that I always have something planned or to organise.


I am a very positive about everything and I am always ready to receive life with an upbeat outlook.
I live life with a sense of adventure and with an attitude of gratitude.
I never complain and I have a really excellent sense of humour.  I have been told by many that I am very mischievous!
Do you know what … They are right? 

Places Visited

I have been very lucky, in the fact that I have visited many countries and interesting places:
I have been to India around eight times and visited the amazing Golden Temple and the Taj Mahal. I have worked in Michigan for about a year and also travelled to New York, Florida, California and Disney world.  During my travels I have also visited Germany, Spain, Australia, Dubai, Singapore, Malta, Greece, Venice, Canada and the Dominican Republic…  I truly have had some wonderful experiences.


I’ve experienced many things in my life, just a few being indoor rock climbing, horse riding, archery, canoeing, and recently I had a fabulous day at the Church WINNE watersports centre. My favourite sports used to be hockey and netball.

Things I want to do

I want to go on holiday abroad this year and also I am looking forward to going to Blackpool to see the illuminations.
I also want to go to Alton towers again and Waterworld in stoke on Trent.

My Family

I worry about my mum as even though she is really not well herself, she still manages to be there for everyone.  She is amazing in the fact that she has supported me in my quest for independence, even though it must have been really difficult for her.  However, I know that she is always there when ever I need her!  I just wish she would slow down a bit, really!


Aman is my younger brother, who is very supportive and he deals with all of our website and technical support of Sheenam’s wish.  He also helps with any jobs I may need doing around the flat. I do worry about Aman, because he has decided not to be tested for HD.  Although I fully understand and support in his decision, he hopefully does not have the disease and could live his life without fear of what may be!


Navneet is my older sister and is married to Indy. I am so happy that she does not have the disease.
I have an amazing nephew called Steven.  I am a very close to Navneet, she does not try to suffocate me in any way and respects my choice to be living independently.  She is always there for me, whenever I need her.